Support Center

Charted on the Wrong Patient

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2014 10:07AM EST

If you chart on the wrong patient and realize your error before locking the records, click the "Chart" button on the daily schedule again. This will allow you to erase the incorrect note and chart the corrected note.

If you have already locked the records for that day, there is a different procedure. Since HIPAA regulations do not permit the alteration of an electronic health record that has been locked, you cannot erase the note that you entered.

The solution is to chart an addendum note to that chart note, explaining the error and asking the reader to disregard the invalid note. To do this, display the day of the invalid (and locked) chart note. You'll notice that an "Addendum" button is there now that the records have been locked; this is the button to click.

Contact Us

bfc72471641d8fa9df83bb8c26e4134e@therapyappointment.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete